HOPE Center Congratulates Award Winning Students

May 24, 2022.

The HOPE Center congratulates 6 graduate students from the Health and Pharmaceutical Outcomes (HPO) Graduate Track who received awards for their research and academic excellence!

Srujitha Marupuru, under direction of Terri Warholak, was awarded the Joseph B. Ryan Memorial Award. This award was established in memory of Joseph B. Ryan, who was a prominent Phoenix pharmacist, and is awarded to UA College of Pharmacy alumni who are interested in pursuing an MS or PhD degree.

Ibrahim Alfayoumi, advised by Ivo Abraham, and Ziyad Almatruk, advised by Terri Warholak, were each awarded the William & Betty Milleson Fink Graduate Student Fellowship. This award was established by Bill and Betty Milleson
Fink, long-time friends of the college. Bill held one of the oldest pharmacy licenses awarded by the State of Arizona, and was a registered pharmacist for over 60 years, and his wife Betty worked at the University of Arizona for 34 years. Students are qualified for the fellowship if they are a full-time Health and Pharmaceutical Outcomes graduate student with a GPA of at least 3.5.

 Mavis Obeng-Kusi, under the direction of Ivo Abraham, was awarded the Hugh E. Laird II Memorial Fellowship. This award honors long-time UA College of Pharmacy faculty member, Dr. Laird, and was provided by generous contributions from colleagues, past students, and friends. This award is given to graduate students who are in their second year or later of their graduate studies.

Graduate Track Awards are given to students who have showcased academic excellence and outstanding research during the last academic year. Candidates were selected based on GPA merit or research nominations from faculty members.  We congratulate our 2 award winners:

Daniel Arku received the Academic Excellence Award for the Health and Pharmaceutical Outcomes Program Track this year. In addition to his other activities, Daniel has completed
all course work with a 4.0 GPA. 

Briana Choi received the Outstanding Research Award. As a PharmD graduate from the UA COP, Briana uses her clinical acumen to inform her innovative research. She has been working on cost-effectiveness/utility analyses of osimertinib in EGFR positive non-small cell lung cancer, as well as focusing on economic evaluations of other cancer-related therapies. She is also exploring e-cigarette use and its public health implications in youth and women.

At the HOPE Center, we value the many ways HPO graduate students participate in our activities. We are so pleased that these stellar students have been acknowledged for their hard work and dedication. Congratulations to you all!