2024 Student Professional Organization Awards

May 14, 2024
2024 Student Professional Organization Award Recipeints

Congratulations to the Class of 2024 winners of the Student Professional Organization Awards! 


Logan McDermott Headshot

American Pharmacists Association - Academy of Student Pharmacists (APhA-ASP) Phoenix - Logan McDermott

“Logan served as an integral part of our APhA-ASP chapter. During her time as Vice President of Patient Care in Phoenix, she not only maintained, but grew our outreach and partnership with patient communities. We’re incredibly grateful for her innovation, passion, and hard work in revitalizing our College of Pharmacy Health Fairs in Phoenix, and look forward to witnessing all the great things she will accomplish in her career!”


Hensley, Catherine

American Pharmacists Association - Academy of Student Pharmacists (APhA-ASP) Tucson - Catherine Hensley

“Catherine’s commitment to community service, collaboration, and patient care made her a special addition to our APhA-ASP chapter. As VP of Patient Care in Tucson, she organized and led all College of Pharmacy Health Fairs in Tucson, expanding patient access to care, and providing educational and philanthropic opportunities to students. We’re very grateful for her service and look forward to all the great things she will do in the future!”


Kelsey Waruszewski Headshot

Industry Pharmacists Organization (IPhO) - Kelsey Waruszewski 

"Kelsey's leadership and professionalism were as evident throughout the College of Pharmacy as they were for our organization. As our President, she organized meetings, fundraisers, networking events, and set a prime example of what a student leader should be. Our organization will forever be grateful for Kelsey and we cannot wait to see where she will make an impact next!"


Jarrod Hise Headshot

Kappa Psi - Gamma Upsilon - Jarrod Hise

"Jarrod Hise was Regent of Gamma Upsilon during ’22-’23 school year and was pivotal in the revitalization of our chapter. His character embodies the core values of Kappa Psi and his leadership strength and direction led the chapter to achieve the Community Service Award, recognized by our regional Province. We are thankful for his dedication, spirit, and his innate fellowship to help our Brothers succeed. Thank you Jarrod and wish you the best!”


Lola Botero

National Community Oncology Dispensing (NCODA)  - Lola Botero

"Lola Botero’s impact on NCODA was profound. As the initiator of the UA chapter, her leadership sparked growth and engagement for students with an interest in Oncology. Holding local and national roles, Lola traveled to annual conferences to broaden outreach and help establish the club. The UA NCODA chapter is extremely grateful for her contribution to the club and wishes her the best of luck in the next phase of her career as a PGY1 resident!"



Monique Cazares Headshot

National Community Pharmacist Association (NCPA) - Monique Cazares

"Monique was a passionate and ambitious leader who wholeheartedly immersed herself in the organization. She attended the NCPA annual convention, participated in the Ronald McDonald Chef for a Day, hosted trivia nights on our Instagram, and, most importantly, advocated for community pharmacists. Congratulations, Monique, and best wishes for  your residency journey!"


Alex Duong Headshot

PediaCATS - Alex Duong

"Alex Duong served as the 2022 PediaCATS president. After the organization’s COVID-long hiatus from the community, Alex helped bring back activities such as elementary school presentations and pediatric education booths at health fairs. Most notably, Alex started the donation drive to the local organization, Youth On Their Own, to help support disadvantaged high schoolers. Alex’s dedication to PediaCATS was truly inspirational to the presidents who followed him."


Haley Welch Headshot

Student College of Clinical Pharmacy (SCCP) - Haley Welch

"Haley Welch, 2022-2023 President of the Student College of Clinical Pharmacy (SCCP), is recognized for her dedication and outstanding leadership within our organization. Serving as an inspiration and driving force for collaboration, she played a pivotal role in advancing the success of our organization. SCCP extends its heartfelt wishes to Haley as she begins her journey as a PGY1 Resident at the Cleveland Clinic!"


Edmund Evangelista

American Society of Health-Systems Pharmacists (SSHP- ASHP)  - Ed Evangelista

"The Student Society of Health System Pharmacy (SSHP) recognizes Ed Evangelista as an outstanding former President of SSHP. During his presidency, Ed accomplished many great things and we continue to be grateful for all the hard work and dedication he put into the organization. We are thankful for Ed's hard-work, leadership, and kindness. SSHP wishes Ed the best of luck in the next phase of his career as an Executive Fellow in Association Leadership and Management with ASHP in Washington DC!"


Student organizations are a great way to develop leadership and professional skills. Consider joining a local club or chapter of national organizations and honoraries at the College of Pharmacy. Learn more on our student organization page.