The University of Arizona Alumni Association presented UA College of Pharmacy graduate John Musil with a special achievement award during Homecoming 2010 events.

Myron Jacobson, PhD, and Elaine Jacobson, PhD, research professors, have received the Findlay E. Russell Distinguished Citizen Award for 2010 from the University of Arizona College of Pharmacy.

The University of Arizona College of Pharmacy presented Richard Wiedhopf, assistant dean of finance and facilities, with the Jack R. Cole, PhD, Distinguished Alumnus Award for 2010.

After more than a decade of following a novel research path, Laurence Hurley is poised to see his work pay off with a new class of breakthrough drug therapies aimed at the elusive ability to kill cancer cells without harming healthy cells.

Laurence Hurley, PhD, professor and holder of the Howard J. Schaeffer Endowed Chair in Pharmaceutical Sciences at the University of Arizona College of Pharmacy, has been appointed chair of the National Cancer Institute’s Board of Scientific Counselors for Basic Sciences.

Researchers from the University of Arizona College of Pharmacy, collaborating with experts from pharmacy professional organizations and the University of Utah, will receive $1.25 million from the federal Agency on Healthcare Research and Quality over the next three years to help hospitals and insurance companies select the best medicines fo

Read more about he college'sconnection to a community outreach organization in Afghanistan through Nicki Scovis (shown here), a pharmacist in the Medication Management Center. Find out about a "Phone-a-thon" event happening now, new faculty member Lisa Whittington, what to do with news crews and other important tidbits.

University of Arizona president Robert Shelton signed an International Memorandum of Agreement Sept. 15, formalizing a partnership between The Universidad de Ciencias Médicas, San José (UCIMED) of Costa Rica and the UA colleges of pharmacy and medicine.

The agreement will facilitate, among other endeavors, short-term visits (rotations) of pharmacy and medical students and educators from The Universidad de Ciencias Médicas to the University of Arizona, and visits by UA faculty to the Costa Rican universit

UA winds up it 125th anniversary events with a very special Homecoming. Find out what is on tap campuswide and at the College of Pharmacy for Oct. 22-24.  At the college, we're combining traditional with some new events. Metta Lou Henderson, shown here, will be in the spotlight as the Pharmacy Alumna of the Year.

The National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases has awarded a five-year, $1.6 million grant to Liwen Lai, PhD, a research professor at the University of Arizona College of Pharmacy, to study a novel agent for treating acute kidney injury.

Lisa Whittingtion, PharmD, has joined the University of Arizona College of Pharmacy as a clinical assistant professor in the Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science.

Philip Schneider, associate dean for academic and professional affairs at the University of Arizona College of Pharmacy, has been named vice president and a fellow of the International Pharmaceutical Federation (FIP).

Barbara Collins, BS, MEd, has been appointed director of student services for the University of Arizona College of Pharmacy.

Hong-yu Li, PhD, has joined the University of Arizona College of Pharmacy as an associate professor in the Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology.

Mazda Shirazi, MD, PhD, has been appointed medical director of the Arizona Poison and Drug Information Center, effective July 1, 2010.

Did you ever think your ancestors' genes could play a role in how healthy you will be during your lifetime? Walt Klimecki is working on research aimed at better understanding the nature of the individual differences that make us unique--and uniquely responsive to environmental toxicants and prescribed drugs.

Arizonans of both the canine and human variety may have cause to celebrate depending on the results of David Nix’s work related to the unique desert disease, valley fever.

Where can you find John Murphy every summer? Fly fishing in Alaska, of course. Much of the rest of the time he's at the College of  Pharmacy, hard at work in his roles of professor and associate dean.

Kristina De Los Santos wasn’t content just being the first college graduate in her family. She also had to graduate magna cum laude from the University of Arizona College of Pharmacy with her PharmD in 1999.

Marty Baker is the face of COP to most prospective PharmD students. At events across the state and nation, she enjoys recruiting the best and the brightest to our highly ranked pharmacy school in the desert.