Nancy Alvarez, PharmD, BCPS, Recipient of the Linwood F. Tice Friend of APhA-ASP Award

The College of Pharmacy is pleased to recognize NANCY ALVAREZ, PHARMD, BCPS, CPCC for her reception of the 2021 Linwood F. Tice Friend of APhA-ASP Award. Established in 1988, the award was created to recognize an individual whose long-term services and contributions have benefited the American Pharmacists Association Academy of Student Pharmacists (APhA–ASP), and thereby, student pharmacists in general.

Dr. Alvarez is the associate dean of Academic and Professional Affairs at the UNIVERSITY OF ARIZONA COLLEGE OF PHARMACY on the Phoenix campus. She is also an associate professor of pharmacy practice and science and director for diversity, equity, and inclusion. Dr. Alvarez belongs to the American Pharmacists Association, served as its 162nd president, and was named a fellow for the organization. Her teaching interests are in pain management, and palliative care and leader development.

When asked how she felt about receiving the award, Dr. Alvarez responded, "APhA-ASP was an integral part of my student pharmacist years - a 'silent mentor' providing me a window through which to see the larger pharmacy profession and find my initial place post-graduation. To be recognized by student pharmacists is deeply meaningful."

The APhA awards and honors program is the most comprehensive recognition program in the profession of pharmacy. Dr. Alvarez was honored during the APhA 2021 Annual Meeting Virtual on Saturday, March 13, 2021. She will be recognized in the APhA Awards Gallery until the 2022 Tice recipient is named.

Congratulations, Dr. Alvarez!