Brian Erstad, PharmD, MCCM, FCCP, FASHP, Recipient of the Robert K. Chalmers Distinguished Pharmacy Educator Award

The College of Pharmacy is pleased to recognize Brian Erstad, PharmD, MCCP, FCCP, FASHP, head of the Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science for his reception of the 2021 The American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP) Robert K. Chalmers Distinguished Pharmacy Educator Award. The Robert K. Chalmers Distinguished Pharmacy Educator Award is named for the late Robert K. Chalmers, former AACP president and distinguished educator. The award recognizes an AACP member's commitment to the Association and its mission of pharmacy education as well as demonstrating excellence in pharmacy education. 

Dr. Erstad has been both a pioneer in critical care pharmacy practice and a strong advocate for Board certification. He has served on the BPS Nuclear Pharmacy and Pharmacotherapy Specialty Councils. He was also appointed as the founding chair and later became the first elected chair of the BPS Specialty Council on Critical Care Pharmacy. In addition, he recently completed his term as the president of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy.

When asked about his reaction to receiving this award Dr. Erstad responded, "I want to thank John Murphy, a previous recipient of this award, for nominating me for this award. I am honored and humbled to be this year’s recipient, particularly since only one faculty member in the Academy is selected for this award despite many who are deserving."

Dr. Erstad will be honored at AACP’s annual meeting, Virtual Pharmacy Education 2021, July 19-22.

Congratulations, Dr. Erstad!