Jeannie Lee, PharmD, BCPS, BCGP, FASHP, Recipient of UAHS LGBTQ+ Faculty Leadership Award


The College of Pharmacy is pleased to recognize Jeannie Lee, PharmD, BCPS, BCGP, FASHP, assistant dean of student services and associate professor with the Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science, for her reception of the UAHS LGBTQ+ Faculty Leadership Award from the University of Arizona Health Sciences LGBTQ+ Interest Group. This award is given to a faculty member for outstanding dedication in creating a safe, inclusive, and equitable environment for LGBTQ+ faculty, staff, residents, fellows, students, and patients. A fellow faculty member, Dr. Elizabeth Hall-Lipsy was also nominated for this award, and first-year student Logan McDermott was nominated for the Student Leadership Award.

Dr. Lee began her role as assistant dean for student services in 2018, and since that time has been passionate about making the college a more inclusive place. She formed the PharmCAT Family Committee whose mission is to foster a culture of inclusive engagement among all members of the College of Pharmacy. In addition, the office of student services won the Most Valuable Partner award from the UAHS LGBTQ+ Interest Group in 2019 and Barb Collins, student services director, was awarded the UAHS LGBTQ+ Staff Leadership Award the same year. 

“Everything I’ve learned about being an advocate, I learned through patient care with the desire to provide the best care possible to whomever walks through my clinic door,” shared Dr. Lee. “I am grateful for the experts here who are passionate about training the next generation of healthcare professionals, including pharmacists, to build and embrace a more beautiful world, where everyone is respected and treated equally in health care and everywhere.”

Congratulations to Dr. Lee and to all the nominees!