

The Joseph B. Ryan Memorial Award

The Joseph B. Ryan Memorial Award is a perpetual endowment established at The University of Arizona by Mrs. Joey Nell Leonard in memory of her father, Joseph B. Ryan, a prominent Phoenix pharmacist who operated a number of drug stores in the State of Arizona and is awarded to graduates of The University of Arizona College of Pharmacy (UACOP) who are interested in entering the MS/PhD program at the UACOP.

The College of Pharmacy will award up to \$4,000 to MS/Ph.D. students whose advisor has their primary appointment in the College of Pharmacy. Applicants must have demonstrated outstanding leadership qualities and genuine academic promise. Highest preference will be given to candidates planning to seek a degree in preparation for a career in Pharmacy Administration.

Selection Process: Application deadline is 12:00 pm, Friday, March 6, 2020. Please submit one single pdf of the application to Susanna Herndon (brodie@pharmacy.arizona.edu) in the Department of Pharmacology/Toxicology, College of Pharmacy.

The application package should include:

- A cover sheet with the Award name, your name, student ID number and your advisor's name
- A 500-word paragraph summarizing why they should be considered for The Joseph B. Ryan Memorial Award
- A letter of nomination from the applicant's faculty advisor
- A current CV including publications and research presentations
- A set of transcripts (unofficial transcripts are fine); and

For More information: Contact Dr. Nathan Cherrington, Chair, Research Affairs Committee cherrington@pharmacy.arizona.edu; 520-626-0219 (T)