College of Pharmacy Alum Metta Lou Henderson, BS ’61, MS ’66, PhD ’78, Honored by Kappa Epsilon Fraternity

The College of Pharmacy is pleased to announce that esteemed alumni Metta Lou Henderson, BSPharm, MS, PhD was honored by Kappa Epsilon Fraternity (KE) during its 100th Anniversary Convention with the establishment of a major award in her name. The Metta Lou Henderson Excellence in Academia Award was created by KE Grand Council to recognize members who have made a significant contribution to pharmacy education through instruction/teaching, scholarly activity, leadership, service, and the advancement of the pharmacy profession. Henderson was honored as the initial recipient of the award that will be given to others in the future. KE is a professional pharmacy fraternity.

Dr. Henderson received her degrees from the University of Arizona (UA) where she currently serves as research professor in the Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science. She is also professor emerita, Ohio Northern University (ONU), where she served the College of Pharmacy (COP) in various academic and administrative capacities including being professor, department chair, associate dean for pharmacy student affairs, and assistant to the vice president for academic affairs at the university level. Prior to being a member of the ONU faculty, she was a faculty member at Ferris State University COP, instructor at Kellogg Community College (Michigan) and a graduate assistant at UA.   

Dr. Henderson has been a mentor and friend to many in the pharmacy profession, especially those in academia. Lucinda Maine, Executive Vice President and Chief Executive Officer of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP) stated that it was “people like Metta Lou, Mary Munson Runge and Gloria Francke and other female leaders who provided me support, encouragement and guidance that accelerated my pathway into leadership in pharmacy”.

She is considered the ‘expert’ on the history of women in pharmacy, having spent much time during her career researching and documenting this history. From her work, she authored the book, American Women Pharmacists: Contributions to the Profession

Dr. Henderson has served KE in many ways including being grand president, national advisor, national historian, member of Grand Council and chapter advisor at the college level. She has served the members of many organizations including AACP, the American Pharmacists Association (APhA) and the American Institute of the History of Pharmacy (AIHP) through her leadership, expert, and mentoring roles.

Dr. Henderson has received many honors and awards including being named APhA Honorary President (2015-2016) and receiving the APhA Gloria Niemeyer Francke Leadership Mentor Award. She is the recipient of the UA COP Mortar and Pestle Award and its Alumni Association Distinguished Alumni Award for Pharmacy, Arizona Pharmacy Association Honorary Membership, ONU Honorary Doctor of Pharmacy degree, AACP Rufus A. Lyman Award, KE Key of Excellence Award and KE/Merck Vanguard Leadership Award among others. Most recently she received the AIHP Robert P. Fischelis Award primarily for the women in pharmacy history project.

Dr. Henderson was also recently the recipient of the 2021 AIHP Robert P. Fischelis Award! Congratulations again Dr. Henderson!