Four Presidents of the American College of Toxicology from the UArizona Pharmacy Graduate Program

This past November, I received the 2019 Distinguished Scientist Award from the American College of Toxicology (ACT), which celebrated its 40th anniversary this year at their annual meeting in Phoenix, AZ. As honored as I was to receive the award, I was equally proud of the extensive role that graduates from the University of Arizona College of Pharmacy play in the leadership of the organization.

The ACT’s mission is to educate, lead, and serve professionals in toxicology and related disciplines. Our graduates have a long history as leaders in our discipline and have served the ACT at all levels. For the 2019-20 term, Lorene Buckley, PhD, DABT, ATS (’81) will be the 4th UArizona graduate to be President of ACT. Previous graduates have taken on senior leadership roles, served as council members, and led committees. In the last 40 years, ACT has elected 4 UArizona graduates as their president, including Kenneth Hastings, DrPH, DABT, ATS (‘91), Andrew Badger, PhD DABT (‘98), Hanan Ghantous, PhD, DABT (‘91).

At the conclusion of the awards ceremony, they asked all the UArizona graduates to join together for a group photo. As I looked around at the group that was gathering, I was able to reflect on the influence our college has had on the mission of the ACT and pharmacy as a whole. It was satisfying to be surrounded by accomplished, dedicated individuals committed to lifelong learning and advancing our profession, and it made me feel, once again, proud to be a PharmCat.



Guest Authored by: A. JAY GANDOLFI, PHD