College Celebrates Class of 2020 with Virtual Convocation, Award Announcement

This year, College of Pharmacy graduation traditions underwent a significant shift as circumstances around COVID-19 required in-person celebrations to be postponed or conducted in alternative ways. A Virtual Convocation ceremony was held by the college on Friday, May 15 at 9:00 AM to honor our graduates’ accomplishments, respect the tradition of the occasion, and celebrate the uniqueness of this year’s alternative festivities.

"Our graduating students worked for years to reach this great milestone," shared LuzMaría Hernández, convocation event coordinator and Recruitment/Events Specialist for the Office of Student Services. "It was an absolute honor and privilege to celebrate them on May 15 with VIRTUAL CONVO 2020."

During the ceremony, students heard inspiring remarks from Rick Schnellmann, PhD, dean of the college, Jeannie Lee, PharmD, assistant dean of student services and emcee of the event, as well as representatives from the various college programs. The yearly program award announcements were also made during the ceremony, recognizing the distinguished graduates as well as the educators of the year and the yearly preceptor awards.

Watch the ceremony again here!

View the virtual program!

The full list of award winners can be found below:

College of Pharmacy PharmD Student Awards

 PharmD Student

Brandy Barrett,
Hunter Hoffmann,
Ann Shangraw,
Dena Bondugji,
Makenna Uraine

Eli Schlossberg Award for Excellence in Pharmacotherapeutics
Kord Catt Excellence in Acute Patient Care Award
Eliane Fossati Excellence in Ambulatory Patient Care
Michelle Ciambella Facts & Comparisons/Lexicomp Clinical Communication Award of Excellence
Charles Norwood Frontiers of Knowledge
Saba Maghari High Scholastic Achievement and Leadership Award
Jubair Hussain Mylan Achievement of Excellence in Drug Information
Brandy Barrett,
Hunter Hoffmann,
Nate Evans,
Bona Kwak,
Ariane Guthrie,
Jubair Hussain,
Makenna Uraine
Recognition of Highest Grade Point Average
Ariane Guthrie College of Pharmacy Outstanding Senior Award
Travis Warman U.S. Public Health Service Excellence in Public Health Pharmacy Award
Trace Bartels Oncology Clinical Rotation Award of Excellence

College of Pharmacy BSPS Student Award 

Christina Carrillo Outstanding Senior Award


College of Pharmacy Graduate Student Awards 

Abdulaali R. Almutairi Caldwell Health Sciences Research Fellowship
Harman Dhatt Joseph B. Ryan Memorial Fellowship Award
Neda Al Rawashdh William & Betty Milleson Fink Graduate Student Fellowships
Mok Yeum Oh Health and Pharmaceutical Outcomes Outstanding Research 
Yueteng Zhang Drug Discovery and Development Outstanding Research


College of Pharmacy Commendations for Publications 

Trace Bartels,
Dean Bondugji,
Andria Boland,
Cecilio Castaneda,
John Change,
Michelle Ciambella,
Nicole Eichhorst,
Ariana Guthrie,
Courtney Loera,
Charles Norwood,
Joel Yambert
Commendations for Publications


College of Pharmacy Rural Health Professions Program Certificate Recipients 

Maryam Al-dabbagh,
Aileen Dauz,
Giang Doan,
Jovan Erfan,
Aaron Frey,
Alma Guardiola,
Ariane Guthrie,
Leila Jafari,
Trevor Jeffers,
Jarred kay,
Yvonne Lee,
Saba Maghari,
Logan Moore,
Bradley Nash,
Charles Norwood,
Scott O’Shaughnessy,
Aaron Pearse,
Gabriel Rallison,
Gamal Raslan,
Neda Shirazi,
Diana Walneck,
Travis Warman
Rural Health Professions Program Certificate Recipients


College of Pharmacy Faculty Awards 

Christopher J. Edwards, PharmD Clinical Science Educator of the Year
Richard R. Vaillancourt, PhD Basic Science Educator of the Year


College of Pharmacy Preceptor Awards 

Mark Culver, PharmD Preceptor of the Year
Samia Al-Scheikh, PharmD Rookie Preceptor of the Year
Maryam Fazel, PharmD Faculty Preceptor of the Year