Research News - May 2018

Published Research

Ivo Abraham, PhD, RN

Jeannie Lee, PharmD, BCPS, CGP, FASHP

  • Cooley J, Lee J. An Operationalization of the pharmacists’ patient care process at one public college of pharmacy. Am J Pharm Educ. 2018;82(2): Article 6301. Published online ahead of print November 2017.
  • Lee J, Coiltan H, Goldsmith P, Heasley B, Dermody M, Fain M, Mohler J. An Assisted Living Interprofessional Education and Practice Geriatric Screening Clinic (IPEP-GSC). Geront & Geriatr Ed. 2018, April 13. doi: 10.1080/02701960.2018.1463222
  • Vadiei N, Lee J. Psychosis in Dementia – Pharmacotherapy. Elder Care: A Resource for Interprofessional Providers

Daniel Malone, RPh, PhD, FAMCP

  • Ip Q, Malone DC, Chong J, Harris RB, Labiner DM. An update on the prevalence and incidence of epilepsy among older adults. Epilepsy Research 2018; 139:107-112.
  • Malone DC, Brown M, Hurwitz JT, Peters L, Graff JS. Real-world evidence: useful in the real world of US payer decision making? How? When? And what studies? Value in Health 2018; 21(4):389-399.
  • Malone DC. Are US healthcare payers efficient? Value in Health 2018; 21:398-399.

Sid Patanwala, PharmD, MPH, BCPS, FCCP, FASHP

Jun Wang, PhD

Donna Zhang, PhD


Daniel Malone, RPh, PhD, FAMCP

  • R01 grant from AHRQ. The amount of the award is $1.58 million over 4 years. The title of the project is “Meaningful Drug Interaction Alerts”. Daniel Malone is the principal investigator.

Heidi Mansour, PhD, RPh

  • NIH National Heart Lung Blood Institute (NHLBI) STTR R41 grant award 1R41HL140741-01.Title: Novel Targeting of the S1P Receptor, S1P1, and Nox4 as Therapeutic Approaches in ARDS.
  • NIH National Heart Lung Blood Institute (NHLBI) PPG (Program Project Grant) grant award P01HL103453. Title: Asthma Inflammation Research. Role: Consortium PI.


Ivo Abraham, PhD, RN

Brian Erstad, PharmD

  • HeadsUp Steering Committee for the University of Arizona
  • National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS) Planning Committee for 4th NIH Disaster Research Response (DR2) Tabletop Training Exercise/Workshop

Maryam Fazel, PharmD, BCPS, BCACP, CDE

  • University of Arizona College of Pharmacy/Banner-University Medical Center South Campus Family Medicine and Diabetes (PGY2 Ambulatory Care) program was accredited by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists
  • Obtained American Diabetes Association (ADA) re-recognition (re-accreditation) of the Adult Diabetes Self-Management Education and Support Program at Banner - UMC South Campus. The re-recognition was granted for four years.

Jeannie Lee, PharmD, BCPS, CGP, FASHP

  • Appointed for a 3-year term to the Public Education Committee of the American Geriatric Society
  • Selected as only PharmD member of the American Geriatrics Society Public Health Education Committee
  • Clinical Science Educator of the Year Award, Selected by PharmD Class of 2018

Heidi Mansour, PhD, RPh

  • Promoted to Associate Professor, Pharmacy Practice and Science, July 2018
  • NIH IRCN (Innovative Research in Cancer Nanotechnology) Study Section, March 26-28, 2018.

Honors& Media:

  • TechLaunch Arizona (TLA) UA Women Inventors' Spotlight
  • TLA Tech Blog Special Edition: A Celebration of UA Women Inventors
  • National Society Leadership:
  • ATS Presidential Appointment to the American Thoracic Society (ATS) Drug/Devices Discovery & Development Leadership Committee, 2018-2019
  • ATS Pediatrics Assembly Planning Committee, 2018-2019
  • Selected to be a Faculty Mentor in the ATS Pediatrics Assembly at the ATS International Conference 2018, San Diego, CA

COP Committee New Appointment:

  • Academic Program Review (APR) Committee

Invited Faculty Speaker and Panelist:

  • The UA Admitted Students’ Day BSPS Program, invited faculty presentation speaker
  • COP Residency Program, invited faculty panelist on student mentoring
  • The UA Global Initiatives and The UA Office for Diversity and Inclusive Excellence, invited faculty speaker on successfully mentoring women in STEM (science, technology, engineering, and medicine)

Jennifer Martin, MA

  • Elected Chair-Elected of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy Library and Information Science Section
  • Accepted to 2018-2019 Cohort of the Leadership and Career Development Program of the Association of Research Libraries

Hanna Phan, PharmD, FCCP, FPPAG

  • Elected President of the Pediatric Pharmacy Associated and inducted as Fellow of the Pediatric Pharmacy Association
  • Invited Editorial on increasing treatment complexity and the dilemma in CF care and why expertise in pharmacology/pharmacotherapeutics is vital for safe and effective medication and use, the role of pharmacists - how pharmacists should be part of every CF care team

Jun Wang, PhD

  • Received the Arizona Biomedical Research Centre (ABRC) New Investigator Award. The title of the application is “discovery of broad-spectrum influenza antivirals to combat influenza epidemics and pandemics”