Dr. Tong Named to State Board of Pharmacy

(Dec. 10, 2018) Theodore G. Tong, PharmD, has been named to the Arizona State Board of Pharmacy effective January 2019 through 2024. The Arizona State Board of Pharmacy protects the health, safety and welfare of the citizens of Arizona by regulating the practice of pharmacy and the manufacturing, distribution, sale and storage of prescription medications and devices and non-prescription medications.

Dr. Tong Is the R. Ken Coit Endowed Chair Professor with the UA College of Pharmacy. Over the course of his career, he has served as Director of the Arizona Poison and Drug Information Center (1982-2005) and Associate Dean for Student Affairs (1987-2018). He received his PharmD from the University of California San Francisco (UCSF) School of Pharmacy. He is a Fellow of the American Pharmacists Association (APhA) and the Academy of Clinical Toxicology (AACP). He has served as member of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Advisory Committee on Nonprescription Drugs and The United States Pharmacopeia Convention (USP) Committee on Clinical Toxicology and Drug Abuse and the Nomenclature, Labeling and Safety Committee. A member of the Arizona Pharmacist Association (AzPA), he has been recognized by AzPA with the Arizona Pharmacist of the Year Award (1999); the Bowl of Hygeia Community Service Award (2006); AzPA Hall of Fame inductee (2014) and the Eli Schlossberg Award honoree (2018).  

Congratulations, Dr. Tong!