UA Alumni Association honors College of Pharmacy Graduate Ken Morris with award

The University of Arizona Alumni Association honored UA College of Pharmacy graduate Kenneth Morris with a special achievement award during Homecoming 2010 events.  

Morris received the Professional Achievement Award, presented to alumni who achieve prominence in their chosen fields. Morris is a researcher in the field of material sciences of pharmaceuticals who currently is on the faculty at the University of Hawaii. He formerly held research positions with E.R. Squibb and Bristol-Myers. At E.R. Squibb, he co-developed the Materials Science function and the Physical Characterization group. He later moved on to Bristol-Myers Products organization where he formed and led the Preformulation/Physical Pharmacy group.

Morris joined the College of Pharmacy at the University of Hawaii at Hilo in 2008, after several years in faculty positions at Purdue University in Indiana. He also served as an adjunct professor at Rutger’s College of Pharmacy and St. John’s University while at Bristol-Myers. He completed master’s and doctoral degrees in pharmaceutical sciences at UA College of Pharmacy in 1986 and 1988, respectively.

Morris was praised by his nominators as a “well-known expert in the field of material sciences of pharmaceuticals,” a “particularly good teacher and excellent motivator of students” and a prolific scholar.