Patrick Ronaldson, PhD

Associate Professor, Pharmacology
Associate Professor, Neuroscience
Associate Professor, Physiological Sciences

Dr. Patrick T. Ronaldson is an Associate Professor with tenure in the Department of Pharmacology at the University of Arizona College of Medicine. His laboratory is presently funded by grants from the National Institutes of Health and the Arizona Biomedical Research Commission to undertake studies aimed at understanding changes in pharmacokinetics and drug response due to pathologies such as ischemic stroke and cerebral hypoxia/reoxygenation stress. Dr. Ronaldson has published over 30 peer-reviewed research and review articles and 5 book chapters on topics related to CNS pharmacology (h-index = 20). Dr. Ronaldson received the New Investigator Grant in Pharmacokinetics, Pharmacodynamics, and Drug Metabolism from the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists (AAPS) in 2011, a Young Investigator Award from the International Society of Cerebral Blood Flow and Metabolism in 2013, and an AAPS service award in 2016. He serves on the editorial boards for Fluids and Barriers of the CNS and Hypoxia and is a member of the Drug Discovery for the Nervous System study section of the National Institutes of Health.

In addition to research, Dr. Ronaldson teaches principles of pharmacology to medical students and molecular pharmacology and neurotoxicology to graduate students at the University of Arizona Colleges of Medicine and Pharmacy. Dr. Ronaldson is the past chair of the Drug Transport Focus Group and eLearning Committee of the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists. He was elected to both positions by his peers based upon his many achievements in research and his outstanding passion for teaching pharmacology. As chair of the Drug Transport Focus Group, Dr. Ronaldson organized and chaired the 2016 AAPS/ITC Joint Workshop on Drug Transporters in ADME: From the Bench to the Bedside.

View UA Profile

Education & Post Graduate Training: 

BS, Pharmacology, University of Toronto
PhD, Pharmaceutical Sciences, University of Toronto, 2007