Member Bios: Alvarez, Burnett, Cohen, Coit, Cole

Nancy A. Alvarez, PharmD, BCPS, FAPhA 
Assistant Dean, Experiential Education and Continuing Professional Development Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice
Chapman University School of Pharmacy

President, 2017‐2018
American Pharmacists Association

Nancy A. Alvarez, PharmD, BCPS, FAPhA is Assistant Dean, Experiential Education & Continuing Professional Development and Clinical Assistant Professor at Chapman University School of Pharmacy.  Before CUSP, she was Sr. Director, Medical Information at Endo Health Solutions; maintained a hospice/palliative care practice; and a community practice with Walgreen’s. She has diverse service experiences such as Phi Lambda Sigma National President, inaugural Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Certification Council member and Phi Delta Chi Grand Vice President for Collegiate Affairs.  For American Pharmacists Association, her service ranges from APhA‐ASP National Member‐at‐Large to two terms on the APhA Board of Trustees. She was installed as the 162nd APhA President in March 2017. She participates in leader development for the Pharmacy Leadership and Education Institute as a facilitator, content developer and program director.

Perry Cohen is a co-founder and president of The Pharmacy Group LLC in Glastonbury, Conn. This company provides marketing services to healthcare, information technology and pharmaceutical companies Perry is a co-founder, past president and fellow of the Academy of Managed Care Pharmacy, a member of the Drug Topics Editorial Advisory Board, Managed Healthcare Executive Editorial Board of Advisors, and a member of the Dean’s Leadership Council, University of the Pacific School of Pharmacy. He holds bachelor of science in pharmacy and doctor of pharmacy degrees from University of the Pacific in Stockton, Calif.

R. Ken Coit graduated from the University of Arizona with a bachelor's degree in pharmacy in 1967, but practiced pharmacy for just three years before beginning a career in investing and financial planning. Ken completed an MBA degree from Pepperdine University while developing his business. He is founder and head of Coit Financial, which now manages more than 8,000 apartment units in California.

Jack ColeJack R. Cole is dean emeritus and professor of pharmaceutical sciences at the University of Arizona College of Pharmacy. He received his bachelor of science in pharmacy degree from the University of Arizona in 1953 and his doctor of philosophy in medicinal chemistry from the University of Minnesota in 1957. Jack was the dean of the College of Pharmacy from 1977 to 1990, and later became the provost and senior vice president for academic affairs for the university. Jack also served as the director of graduate education, research and scholarship at the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy from 1992 to 1994.

Originally posted: August 27, 2013
Last updated: July 28, 2017
Want to update? Contact Webmaster
Share This