American Pharmacists Association - Academy of Student Pharmacists

The American Pharmacists Association - Academy of Student Pharmacists (APhA-ASP) has more than 18,000 students nationally. The name of the Academy of Student Pharmacists reflects the status of students as practicing members of the profession. The University of Arizona chapter has the largest membership of all the student pharmacy organizations at our college. The reason is simple: APhA-ASP the largest pharmacy organization that represents and unites all pharmacy interests. This organization is a subset of the national organization, called the American Pharmacists Association (APhA).

APhA-ASP members posed for American Pharmacists Month

In 2007, our chapter beat out ASP groups from 32 other Division AAA schools to win the Chapter Achievement Award for an unprecedented fourth consecutive year. Division AAA schools are those with fewer than 350 students. The chapter also has copped the national award for chapter achievement. The COP chapter also received two awards in 2009: the Membership Achievement Recognition for 90 percent and greater membership and the Outstanding Chapter Achievement Award for Division AAA schools.

APhA represents pharmacists in every area of pharmacy. Becoming a member of APhA-ASP automatically makes you a member of APhA. In addition, being a member of APhA-ASP enables students to receive the APhA journals and other publications which bring educational information on pharmaceutical therapy, counseling patients and current issues concerning the profession of pharmacy.

Follow us on Facebook to learn more about our current activities.


faculty Advisers


Current APHA-ASP Officers*

  • SIerra Fung, President
  • Supranee Soontornprueska, President-Elect
  • Anny Wong, VP of Fundraising
  • Sarah Huynh, VP of Patient Care
  • Amanda Singer, VP of Membership
  • Leah Alata, VP of Professional Affairs and Social Affairs
  • Merta Cushing, VP of Policy and Advocacy
  • Sandy Lee, VP of Communications
  • Armando Morales, Treasurer
  • Aya Shoura, Secretary

Screening Coordinators

  • Asthma: Quyen Dao, David Djane, Sumaiyya Zehri
  • Diabetes: Vidhi Gupta, Stephanie Lawson, Evan Mallory, Tyler Ruddy, Rijan Shrestha, Shuang Xia Sun

Generation Rx Coordinators

  • Christopher Hagen
  • Nicholas Ong
  • Oritsematosan Isemede

Operation Heart Coordinators

  • Lily Nguyen
  • Brittney Dewey
  • Lily Nguyen

Operation Immunization Coordinators

  • Anthony Sandoval
  • John Sellers
  • Jennifer Panic

Operation Self-Care Coordinators

  • Anny Wong
  • Mayra Guzman


*Officers serve until May 2015. New officers will be elected in February or March of 2015 and will shadow current officers through May.

Originally posted: August 29, 2013
Last updated: February 10, 2015
Want to update? Contact Webmaster
Share This