Students, faculty receive awards at luncheon

The annual senior awards luncheon took place at the Tucson Chinese Cultural Center May 9. At the celebration, a number of Class of 2012 students and faculty members were recognized for outstanding performance.

2 young women holding plaques

Students who received awards from student organizations were:

  • Ashlee Gerfen — Student Council Award
  • Bernadette Aragon and Elizabeth Geisler — APhA-ASP Outstanding Senior Award
  • Kerry Redman — Arizona Pharmacy Association–Student Pharmacist Academy Award
  • Emily Lundeen — International Pharmaceutical Students Federation Award
  • Ashley Sweaney — National Community Pharmacists Association Award
  • Connie Chau — Student Society of Health-System Pharmacists Outstanding Senior Award
  • Christine Aguilar — Phi Lambda Sigma Outstanding Senior Award
  • Ashlee Gerfen — RhoChi Outstanding Senior Award
  • Justin Clark — Kappa Epsilon Outstanding Senior Award
  • Matthew Bertsch — Kappa Psi Outstanding Senior Award
  • Edric Wong — Phi Delta Chi Outstanding Senior Award

Students who received awards from the College of Pharmacy were:

  • Ashley Sweaney — Clinical Communication Award of Excellence sponsored by Facts and Comparisons
  • Randi Douglas — Outstanding Student Award sponsored by Teva
  • Sarah Workinger — Outstanding Pharmacy Student Award sponsored by Eli Lilly & Company
  • Connie Chau and Neha Giridharan — Highest Scholastic Achievement and Leadership Award sponsored by Merck & Company
  • Amanda Klein — Achievement of Excellence in Drug Information sponsored by Mylan Pharmaceuticals
  • Kathryn Elofson — Award for Excellence in Pharmacotherapeutics sponsored by Friends of Eli Schlossberg
  • Megan Ledbetter — Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database Recognition Award sponsored by Pharmacist's Letter
  • Ashlee Gerfen — UA Foundation Outstanding Senior
  • Ashlee Gerfen — Student Council Leadership Award sponsored by McKesson Drug Company
  • Connie Chau — United States Public Health Service Excellence in Public Health Pharmacy Practice Award

Along with the students, faculty members were also presented with awards:

  • John Murphy — Basic Science Educator of the Year
  • David Apgar — Clinical Science Educator of the Year Award
  • Lisa Whittington Goldstone — Preceptor of the Year Award

View the high achievers in the photos below.

young man with award














woman with award on table  woman seated with award

3 young women with awards

4 men and woman on stage

2 women and 3 men on stage clapping

woman outdoors with award  2 young women with awards

Captions (top to bottom): Matt Bertsch; Natalee Turner prepares to present IPSF award; Christine Aguilar; Randi Douglas, Sarah Workinger and Amanda Klein; Nominees for the Basic Science Educator of the Year; Nominees for the Clinical Science Educator of the Year; Lisa Whittington Goldstone; Ashley Sweaney and Kathryn Elofson

Share This