IPSF holds 10th annual international dinner

On April 25, the COP chapter of the International Pharmaceutical Students’ Federation (IPSF) held its 10th annual international dinner at the Tucson Chinese Cultural Center. More than 110 people attended the event; proceeds went to benefit students traveling to Thailand and India this summer.

“We had a wonderful event this year,” says Ronald Velasquez, IPSF president. “The TCCC lion dancers performed a wonderful dance, the Filipino American Youth Association from Phoenix performed two cultural dances and a hip hop performance and the Odaiko Sonora Taiko Drummers performed.”

Each year, the event features a Top Chef competition. In this competition, students go head to head in two categories: appetizers and desserts. In previous years, those in attendance judged the competition.

“This year,” says Velasquez, “we decided to make things a little more fun and have specific faculty judges.“ 

Georg Wondrak from the Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology, along with Richard Herrier and Jeannie Lee from the Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science, judged the appetizer category. Contestants in this category included:

  • Merta Cushing
  • Mandy Hwang
  • Jonis Munoz
  • Linda Nguy
  • Lily Nguyen
  • Nicholas Ong
  • Tyler Ruddy
  • Tatiana Sawyer

First place in the appetizer category went to Mandy Hwang for her Korean BBQ skewers and second place was a tie between Linday Nguy for japchae and Tatiana Sawyer for beef kalbi. 

For the dessert category, David Apgar, David Lee and Marion Slack, all from the Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science, and Richard Vaillancourt from the Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology, worked together to decide the winner.  Contestants in the dessert category included:

  • Mayra Guzman
  • Aaron Leyba
  • Ashley Loy
  • Evan Mallory
  • Mel Nelson
  • Dana Reyes
  • Supranee Soontornpreuska
  • Wendy Wong

The winner of the dessert competition was Wendy Wong for her banana pudding. The runner-up honor was awarded to Evan Mallory for his mango ice cream.

Adds Velasquez, “It was a fun night filled with laughs, good times and our new officer induction.”

A list of the new officers for the 2015-2016 academic year can be found on the IPSF homepage


Share This