College 'superstars' to be recognized at Homecoming celebration

COP’s 2015 Homecoming celebration will include honoring four individuals for their outstanding contributions to the college and profession. The following College of Pharmacy “superstars” will be recognized during the Oct. 23 reception outside Drachman Hall.

Hal Wand, BS Pharmacy 1979, will receive the Alumnus of the Year Award, which is presented by the University of Arizona Alumni Association. This award recognizes the achievements and significant contributions of Wildcat alumni from each college. Recently retired, Wand served for more than 25 years as executive director of the Arizona State Board of Pharmacy.  He is beginning consecutive terms as president-elect, president and chairperson of the National Association of the Boards of Pharmacy. Wand is a strong supporter of COP, a member of the college’s National Advisory Board and an avid Wildcat sports fan.

Smiling young white man with dark hair and glassesShaun Kirkpatrick, president and chief executive officer of Research Corporation Technologies (RCT), will receive the college’s Findlay E. Russell, MD, PhD, Distinguished Citizen Award. The award honors an individual who is not a graduate of UA COP, but who has achieved success, helped to further the mission of the college, provided leadership to the profession and the community, and made a positive impact on the state, nation and world. Kirkpatrick attended UA as a Flinn Foundation Scholar and graduated with a double major in economics and biology. He also earned a master’s degree in international economics and science/technology from Johns Hopkins University School of Advanced International Studies. A longtime member of the college’s National Advisory Board, Kirkpatrick oversees RCT’s BioVentures investment portfolio and technology department.

Sandra Brownstein, PharmD 1994, will be awarded the Danny and Rae Jacob Award. This award, given by the UA College of Pharmacy, recognizes outstanding pharmacy practitioners for their quality of practice and service to the community and profession. The children of alumnus Danny Jacob and his wife, Rae, established the award to honor their parents’ commitment to pharmacy. Brownstein is the president and CEO of Pharmacy Care Providers, LLC, and president of SeniorCare Strategies, LLC, both located in Tucson, and a preceptor for the college. Nominators describe Brownstein as a “superb” pharmacist with a passion that she demonstrates to students. They laud her for inspiring students to care about all patients as if they were family members or close friends.

Smiling white woman with short dark hairReceiving the Jack R. Cole, PhD, Distinguished Alumnus Award in a separate ceremony to be held Oct. 9 in New York City will be Mary J. Ryan, BS Pharmacy 1974. Given by the UA College of Pharmacy, the award recognizes an alumnus or alumna who has achieved success in a pharmaceutical or other capacity, helped to further the mission of the COP, provided leadership to the profession and the community and made a positive impact on the state, nation and world.  Ryan retired from Medco Health Solutions in 2012 after more than 20 years in leadership positions. Her last post was as vice president, corporate regulatory group, responsible for interface with various regulatory agencies. A member of the American Pharmacists Association and past chair of the Legislative and Regulatory Action Committee at the Academy of Managed Care Pharmacy, Ryan has served for many years on the college’s National Advisory Board.


Register now to attend Homecoming events, including the awards ceremony, at the UA College of Pharmacy.

Share This