College, Alumni Association to present awards at Homecoming reception

A number of luminaries will receive awards at a brief presentation during the college’s Homecoming reception Friday evening, Nov. 9, 2012. The reception will be from 5 to 7 p.m. on the lawn south of Drachman Hall. This event is free, but be sure to register so we can plan wisely.

We hope you will attend and congratulate the following people who will receive awards Nov. 9:

Kristina De Los Santos, PharmD 1999, BCPS, Southern Arizona Veterans Health Care System pharmacy chief, will receive the Young Professional Achievement Award from the UA Alumni Association. De Los Santos has been an active member of the Junior League of Tucson for several years, and in November 2009 she was named League Leader of the Month. Chosen 2007 Pharmacist of the Year by the Arizona Pharmacy Association, De Los Santos volunteers more than 100 hours a year to serve the Tucson community. “I can think of a lot of young pharmacists that are great, but I can think of none that surpasses Kristina’s accomplishments and professionalism,” one nominator stated.

Nancy A. Alvarez, PharmD 1992, BCPS, FAPhA, has been selected to receive the college’s Jack R. Cole, PhD, Distinguished Alumnus Award for 2012. Alvarez is senior director of medical information with Endo Health Solutions in Chadds Ford, Penn. She has served as a faculty member at a number of institutions including the University of the Sciences in Philadelphia, The Ohio State University and Midwestern University, Glendale Campus. Alvarez is a preceptor at the UA College of Pharmacy. One nominator said of Alvarez, “Nancy is the picture of a very successful woman. I believe that she meets the four qualities of success, furthering the mission of the college, providing leadership and making a positive impact that are required for a recipient of the Cole Distinguished Alumnus Award.”

Fred G. Paavola, RPH, DSc, FAPhA, team commander of Arizona-One Disaster Medical Assistance Team, has been chosen to receive the college’s Findlay E. Russell Distinguished Citizen Award for 2012. Paavola is a retired rear admiral and assistant surgeon general. During his service with the U.S. Public Health Service, he led more than 1,100 pharmacists in 12 federal operating divisions and programs. “Fred has a passion for pharmacy students and their professional and personal growth,” one nominator said. Since his retirement, Paavola has founded the AZ-1 DMAT, a highly mobile team of professionals trained to provide health care in all situations.

Carol Rollins, PharmD 1987, MS, pharmacist at The University of Arizona Medical Center – University Campus, has been selected to receive this year’s Danny and Rae Jacob Award for Pharmacy Practice. Rollins is a long-time coordinator of the hospital’s nutrition support team, and a preceptor at the College of Pharmacy. She receives high praise from one of her nominators: “It is not uncommon to see Carol in the hospital long after her official shift has been completed, talking to residents and dealing with patient care issues. She does so without fanfare or complaints.”

For more information about Homecoming activities, see the college’s and Alumni Association webpages.


Share This