Caldwell Health Sciences Research Fellowship

Working together as scientists and marriage partners, Dr. George Thornhill Caldwell and Dr. Mary Estill Caldwell devoted nearly a century of teaching and research to the University of Arizona. In honor of their dedication to the development of future scholars, the Caldwell Health Sciences Research Fellowships were established. Research awards are available for deserving graduate students in the Colleges of Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, and Public Health.

The fellowship was established in 1995 in memory of Mary Caldwell, who worked at UA for 55 years, first as a biology and bacteriology professor and then as a researcher.

Awards of up to $3,000 each are given to College of Pharmacy graduate students who are conducting original research.

Recent recipients of the Caldwell Health Sciences Research Fellowship are as follows:

  • 2016-2017: Michael J. Kerins
  • 2015-2016: Nicholas McConnell, Drug Discovery & Development, $2,000
  • 2014-2015: Guillermo Martinez-Ariza, Drug Discovery & Development, $2,000
  • 2013-2014: Jessica Sapiro, Pharmacology & Toxicology, $3,000
  • 2012-2013: Brendan Frett, Drug Discovery & Development, $3,000
                        Christine Kaiser, Drug Discovery & Development, $3,000
  • 2011-2012: Owen Kinsky, Pharmacology & Toxicology, $2,000
                        Shuxi Qiao, Pharmacology & Toxicology, $2,000
                        Tongde Wu, Pharmacology & Toxicology, $2,000
  • 2010-2011: Courtney Wheatley, Pharmacology & Toxicology, $3,000
                        Ingrid Druwe, Pharmacology & Toxicology, $3,000
                        Chris Kuhlman, Pharmacology & Toxicology, $2,000
                        Nick Mastrandrea, Pharmacology & Toxicology, $2,000
Originally posted: August 13, 2014
Last updated: February 16, 2018
Want to update? Contact Webmaster
Share This