Philip Schneider, MS, FASHP

Associate Dean
Pharmacy Administration
602-827-2446 520-626-5905
FAX: 602-827-2490
Phoenix Biomedical Campus 3384

Philip J. Schneider is professor and associate dean for academic and professional affairs for the College of Pharmacy at the Phoenix Biomedical Campus.  In this position, he provides oversight, development and administration of educational initiatives including teaching, service and scholarship activities.

Prior to this position, he held positions at the Ohio State University including clinical professor and director of the Latiolais Leadership Program, an interprofessional program to advance leadership in pharmacy and improve the medication use system to reduce adverse drug events.  Before taking this position, he held pharmacy practice and administrative positions at the Ohio State University Medical Center and was responsible for the pharmacy residency program at which 99 residents were trained during his years as program director.  Active in national organizations that establish standards for measurement and performance of medication use systems, he has served on the National Quality Forum Steering Committee on Serious Reportable Events in Healthcare and as a member of the Institute of Medicine Committee on Patient Safety and Health Information Technology.

During his 44 years of professional and academic service, he has published more than 180 articles and abstracts in professional and scientific journals, 38 book chapters, edited seven books and given more than 500 contributed or invited presentations in 22 countries and the US.  He is a past president of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) and member of the ASHP Visiting Leaders Program faculty, and past president of the American Society for Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition (A.S.P.E.N.), having served for 10 years as the first editor-in-chief of Nutrition in Clinical Practice, one of its official publications.

Active in international pharmacy, he has served as chairman of the Board of Pharmaceutical Practice of the International Pharmaceutical Federation (FIP), secretary and newsletter editor of the Hospital Pharmacy Section, chairman of the Congress Planning Committee for FIP and is now a vice president of FIP.  In 2006, he was presented with the Donald E. Francke Medal for significant international contributions to health-system pharmacy.   He was selected as the recipient of the 2008 Harvey A.K Whitney award, known as health-system pharmacy’s highest honor for his outstanding contributions to the practice of pharmacy in health systems.  In 2010, he was recognized as a fellow of FIP (FFIP). In 2012, he was recognized as a fellow of the American Society for Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition (FASPEN) and in 2013 received the Stanley Serlick award that recognizes a pharmacist who has made significant contributions to improving safe practices for parenteral nutrition.   

Originally posted: September 9, 2013
Last updated: September 3, 2015
Want to update? Contact Webmaster
Share This