Faculty, Investigators & Support Staff

The HOPE Center is well staffed to achieve its mission, with a wealth of experience and diverse backgrounds to respond to research, education, training and translational requests.

Assistant Director

Amy Grizzle, PharmD
Amy Grizzle is the assistant director of the Center for Health Outcomes and PharmacoEconomic Research. She joined the center in March 1999 after spending nearly seven years in the pharmaceutical industry. Dr. Grizzle received her BS and PharmD from the University of Arizona College of Pharmacy and then completed a two-year pharmacoeconomic fellowship with the University of Arizona and Glaxo Inc. Following her fellowship, she joined the Global Pharmacoeconomics group at Syntex . . . more


Ivo Abraham, PhD, RN


Ivo Abraham is professor (part-time) in the Department of Pharmacy Practice. He has also served on the faculty of Case Western Reserve University (Cleveland, Ohio), University of Virginia (Charlottesville, Va.), and (part-time) Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (Leuven, Belgium); and as visiting professor at Universiteit Maastricht (Maastricht, The Netherlands), University of Florida (Gainesville,... more

Sandipan Bhattacharjee, PhD

Assistant Professor, Pharmacy Practice & Science

Sandipan Bhattacharjee is an assistant professor in the Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science at the University of Arizona College of Pharmacy. He recently completed his PhD in Health Outcomes Research from West Virginia University. His dissertation was on assessing the burden of illness among elderly individuals with Parkinson’s disease. He has an MS in pharmacy administration from the... more

Brian Erstad, PharmD

Professor, Department Head

Brian L. Erstad, PharmD, MCCM, is currently a tenured professor and head of the Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science. He is also a center investigator for the Center for Health Outcomes and PharmacoEconomics Research and a co-director for the Arizona Clinical and Translational Research Graduate Certificate Program. His clinical responsibilities are performed at Banner-University Medical... more

Jason Hurwitz, PhD

Research Scientist

Jason Hurwitz, MS, PhD, is an investigator with the College of Pharmacy's Center Center for Health Outcomes and PharmacoEconomic (HOPE) Research and with the University of Arizona Comparative Effectiveness Research Group (UA CER Group). He also worked jointly as a research associate with the College of Education, and was a former PhRMA Foundation Post-Doctoral Fellow in Health Outcomes Research.... more

Wei-Hsuan Jenny Lo-Ciganic, PhD

Assistant Professor

Wei-Hsuan Jenny Lo-Ciganic, PhD, MSCP, MS, is an assistant professor in the University of Arizona College of Pharmacy, Department of Pharmacy, Practice and Science. She is a pharmcoepidemiologist and biostatistician with interests in medication adherence to essential chronic medications, drug safety, cancer prevention, quality and value of prescribing, and diffusion of new drugs for chronic... more

Daniel Malone, RPh, PhD


Daniel C. Malone, RPh, PhD, is a professor at the College of Pharmacy and associate professor in Mel and Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health at the University of Arizona. He received a bachelor of science degree in pharmacy from the University of Colorado (magna cum laude) in 1987. Dr. Malone received a MS degree in 1990 and PhD degree in 1993 from The University of Texas. He completed an... more

John E. Murphy, PharmD

Associate Dean, Professor

John E. Murphy, PharmD, is Interim Associate Dean for the College of Pharmacy Phoenix campus and professor of family and community medicine at the UA College of Medicine in Tucson.  In November 2015 through July 2016 he served as interim dean at the College of Pharmacy. John is also an honorary professor at the University of Otago School of Pharmacy in Dunedin, New Zealand.  Dr.... more

Marion Slack, PhD


Marion Slack has practiced in a wide variety of settings including: • Independent community pharmacies in Lexington, Kentucky, and Paris, Kentucky • Community hospitals in Lexington, Kentucky, and Minneapolis, Minnesota • A leper colony in Northeast Thailand As a faculty member at the UA College of Pharmacy, one of Marion’s interests is the educational preparation of pharmacy students—... more

Terry Urbine, PhD

Assistant Research Scientist, Instructor

I have a PhD in economics that I earned in 1991 from the University of Notre Dame, but my path to becoming an Instructor here took many turns. I have taught business, finance, management, economics, forecasting, statistics, computer science and operations research at a variety of universities and degree programs while working in industry full-time. Before joining the College of Pharmacy in 2008... more

Terri Warholak, PhD, RPh

Designate Assistant Dean, Academic Affairs/Assessment, Professor, Pharmacy Practice & Science, Assistant Professor, Public Health

Dr. Warholak is an associate professor and serves as an investigator within the Center for Health Outcomes and PharmacoEconomic Research. She received her BS, MS, and PhD from Purdue University. From 1990 to 1997, Dr. Warholak served as a commissioned officer in the United States Public Health Service where her clinical pharmacy experience spans from inpatient to community practice and includes 5... more

Support Staff

Lynne Mascarella, MEd

Director of Continuing Education and Alumni Affairs

Lynne Mascarella is the director of continuing education and alumni affairs. The Office of Continuing Education orchestrates the development, delivery and accreditation of continuing education programs for pharmacy professionals. In addition to continuing education responsibilities, Lynne also coordinates alumni outreach efforts for the college, including homecoming, alumni ambassadors council,... more

Originally posted: July 1, 2014
Last updated: March 28, 2017
Want to update? Contact Webmaster
Share This