Alumni Potpourri January-March 2015

Nancy Alvarez (PharmD 1992) is one of two candidates named for American Pharmacists Association president-elect. Alvarez has held various positions and received many awards throughout her pharmacy career. She is currently serving her second term on the APhA Board of Trustees; she is also on the Board of Pharmacy Leadership and Education Institute. In 2012, she received the UA COP Jack R. Cole Distinguished Alumnus Award. Elections will be held March 27 – May 25, 2015.

portrait of smiling manBrian Erstad (PharmD 1994) professor and head of the Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science at the UA College of Pharmacy, recently was awarded the Presidential Citation for Outstanding Contributions by the Society of Critical Care Medicine.

Patrick Campbell (PharmD 2014?) is now a PhD student in the Pharmaceutical Economics, Policy and Outcomes research track at the college. He received the Joseph B. Ryan Memorial Scholarship from the college in January. The fellowship was established by Joey Nell Leonard in memory of her father, Joseph B. Ryan, a prominent Phoenix pharmacist who operated a number of drug stores in Arizona.

Metta Lou Henderson (BS 1961, MS 1966, PhD 1978) became honorary president of the American Pharmacists Association at its meeting last month. The title honorary president is conferred upon a member who has made significant contributions to the association.

Ardy Meier (MS 1988) was the 2014 recipient of the Bowl of Hygeia Award from Wyoming. She and her husband, Jim Cerha, have retired from the U.S. Air Force and spend time in Tucson and Wyoming.

man with beardJohn Musil (PharmD 1994) presented his thoughts on entrepreneurship to College of Pharmacy students March 5 as part of the Coit Seminar series. Musil founded Avella Specialty Pharmacy, one of the fastest growing companies in the U.S. To watch his presentation on streaming video, go to “Thinking Outside the Box: Creating Your Vision of Success ” on the UA MedTV Public Events website.

Paul Myrdal (PhD 1994), associate professor in the Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science at the UA College of Pharmacy, recently received the Excellence in Teaching Award given by the college's graduate students.

The college sends sincere thanks to the five alumni who participated as faculty at the 48th Annual Southwestern Clinical Pharmacy Seminar held in Tucson Feb. 20-22. Teaching continuing education sessions were Dawne Cylwik (PharmD 2014), PGY1pharmacy resident; Jessica DiLeo (PharmD 2013) of the UA Medication Management Center; Lisa Goldstone (PharmD 2007), COP assistant professor; Steven Karpen (PharmD 2014), clinical toxicology fellow at the Arizona Poison and Drug Information Center; and Robert Lipsy (PharmD 1985), of the UA Medication Management Center.

Other COPers presenting sessions were faculty members Marce Honkonen and David Nix, Nicole Scovis of the Medication Management Center and Nic Hurst, medical toxicology fellow at the Arizona Poison and Drug Information Center.

This was the second seminar presented under a partnership of the College of Pharmacy and the Arizona Pharmacy Association. The joint venture allows for a wider range of topics and speakers and additional networking opportunities. Many thanks as well to all of our alumni readers who attended the conference!



Originally posted: March 24, 2015
Last updated: September 2, 2015
Want to update? Contact Webmaster
Share This