Alumni Potpourri August-December 2014

portrait of KristinaKristina De Los Santos (PharmD 1999) was named a 40 Under 40 award recipient by the Tucson Hispanic Chamber of Commerce in partnership with the Arizona Daily Star. As part of the 10th Anniversary 40 Under 40 Awards, she was recognized at a reception for past and present honorees and at an awards breakfast on Dec. 4. De Los Santos is the chief of pharmacy at the Southern Arizona Veterans Affairs Health Care System. For more information, see the 40 Under 40 Awards page on the Tucson Hispanic Chamber of Commerce website.

Metta Lou Henderson (BS 1961, MS 1966, PhD 1978) was presented with the college’s 2014 Mortar and Pestle Award during the Scholarship and Fellowship Recognition Lunch held Sept. 19. The Mortar and Pestle Award honors College of Pharmacy donors who have a long and sustained history of supporting college programs. Henderson has continuously supported her alma mater since receiving a bachelor’s diploma in pharmacy. She has contributed to various campaigns and established the Metta Lou Henderson Endowed Scholarship. 

Stacey Tannenbaum (PhD 2001) was elected an executive council member-at-large of the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists. As part of the executive council, she will work with a team that serves to ensure the programs of AAPS comply with the association’s vision, mission and values. Her term will take effect at the 2014 AAPS Annual Meeting and Exposition to be held Nov. 2-6 in San Diego. 

woman's portraitGretchen Tush Brophy (PharmD 1994), left, has been named a fellow of the Neurocritical Care Society and was recognized during the 12th Annual Neurocritical Care Society Meeting in Seattle Sept. 12-14. Brophy teaches at Virginia Commonwealth University School of Pharmacy. Fellows of the NCS are chosen based on contributions to the field of neurocritical care in program development, scholarship activity and leadership.

Anthony Soto (BS 1987) writes that he is now director of pharmacy at Quail Run Behavioral Health in Phoenix. Quail Run is a 100-bed behavioral health hospital that primarily treats adolescents. "I'm glad to be back in my home state of Arizona," he says.

Armstrong portraitEd Armstrong (BS 1980) will retire in early 2015 as a professor at the UA College of Pharmacy. After completing a PharmD degree from the University of Missouri-Kansas City in 1981, Armstrong joined UA as a faculty member in July 1982. He is a fellow of the American Society of Health Systems Pharmacists, served as a visiting professor for Kobe-Gakuin University in Japan and has consulted with health systems in Eastern Europe and Southeast Asia.

His specific research interests have focused on managed care database evaluations and disease state modeling involving Crohn’s disease, stroke prophylaxis in atrial fibrillation, asthma, depression, heart failure, dyslipidemias, prostate disease, hepatitis C, infectious diseases, diabetes mellitus, epilepsy, community acquired pneumonia and hypertension.

Several alumni helped welcome the new PharmD Class of 2018 to the college at the beginning of fall semester. Attending a luncheon with incoming students during Orientation Week were Keith Boesen (PharmD 2002), John Belobraydic (BS 1986), Jessica DiLeo (PharmD 2013), Bill Fritz (BS 1970, MS 1977), Metta Lou Henderson (BS 1961, MS 1966, PhD 1978), Bill Jones (BS 1972, MS 1979), David Lee (BS 1977), Joanne McDaniels (PharmD 1991), Mobeen Moslem (PharmD 2013), Susan Neihart (BS 1986), John Olmstead (BS 1976), and Liz Petersen (BS 1976). Olmstead, who is now in Globe, Arizona, addressed the class about his nearly 40 years of independent practice and the expanding opportunities in community pharmacy practice found in smaller communities. Olmstead owns Palace Health Mart, Kearney Health Mart and Buckeye Health Mart.

Originally posted: December 10, 2014
Last updated: April 1, 2015
Want to update? Contact Webmaster
Share This