Endowments for Faculty

Endowments for faculty may be made in two forms: endowed faculty chair or an endowed professorship.

An endowed faculty chair supports outstanding scholars and scientists and helps the college attract and retain world-renowned faculty for teaching and research.

Laurence HurleyAt universities across the country, endowed chairs are regarded as the ultimate means of support to advance the educational mission of the institution. Because endowed chairs are permanent funds in which the principal is held in perpetuity, the college is less dependent on fluctuating sources of funding.

An endowed chair is generally named after an individual. For example, Dr. Laurence Hurley (left) occupies the Howard Schaeffer Chair in Pharmaceutical Sciences at the University of Arizona College of Pharmacy. The chair is named after Howard Schaeffer, PhD, former vice president of research and development at Burroughs Wellcome Co. The chair was established by the Burroughs Wellcome Fund.

A gift of $2,500,000 or more will fully endow a chair in the College of Pharmacy. Chairs are available in a variety of areas, including pharmacoeconomic research, drug discovery and development and pharmacy practice.

The college also has the R. Ken Coit Endowed Chair, named for the 1967 alumnus who established it, that supports enhanced activities and learning opportunities for students. In 2013-2014, we announced a drive to fund the J. Lyle Bootman Endowed Dean's Chair. The Bootman Endowed Chair will serve to recruit and retain outstanding individuals to serve as dean. Contributions to the Dean's Chair are welcome; these may be made online or by check.

An endowed professorship enhances the college's ability to increase the productivity of distinguished faculty by providing supplemental support for research assistance, travel, innovative teaching projects and other activities. An endowed professorship recognizes scholarly excellence and contributions.

A gift of $1,000,000 or more will endow a professorship in the College of Pharmacy. As the donor, you may designate the discipline from which the professor will be selected.

For more information, please contact the UAHS Development office, 520-626-5752, toll-free 877-518-4638, give@uahs.arizona.edu.

Photo caption: Laurence Hurley

Originally posted: August 29, 2013
Last updated: March 15, 2017
Want to update? Contact Webmaster
Share This