Alumni Potpourri - March through May 2012

This page is a miscellany of many kinds of information about people who are alumni of the UA College of Pharmacy. To contribute your own tidbits, use our Stay in Touch form or email your photo and information to the alumni affairs staff.

News from March, April & May

woman with big smileJoLaine Draugalis (PhD 1987), dean of the College of Pharmacy at the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center since 2007, received an honorary doctorate of business and industry degree from Ferris State University in Michigan May 4. Draugalis graduated from the Ferris School of Pharmacy in 1976. Before assuming the deanship in Oklahoma, Draugalis was an associate dean at the University of Arizona College of Pharmacy.

Kevin Stahl (PharmD 1995) writes that he is a pharmacy manager at Bashas' in Surprise, Ariz. He also is a preceptor for pharmacy students from Midwestern University in Glendale and has been honored in the past as Preceptor of the Year.

Katie Steffel (PharmD 2004) posted the following to our Facebook page when we announced the R. Ken Coit Endowed Chair to support student learning and activities, and its first recipient, Theodore Tong, associate dean for academic and student affairs. She wrote, " Congratulations to Dr. Tong and the College of Pharmacy! Everyone who has been a part of this program at the University of Arizona, including myself, is truly blessed. It was such a wonderful experience and I am so proud to see alumni give back!! Thank you, Mr. Coit!"

John Seeger (PharmD 1992) returned to Tucson in March to present at the continuing education workshop "Evaluating and Applying Comparative Effectiveness Research To Guide Prescription Medication Use." Seeger also holds a doctor of public health and is currently a pharmacoepidemiologist at Brigham and Women's Hospital in Boston with academic appointments at Harvard University and the Massachusetts College of Pharmacy.

2 men with awardFrank Nice (BSPharm 1981) is a co-author of "Medications and Breastfeeding: Current Concepts" published in the January/February 2012 issue of the Journal of the American Pharmacists Association. Nice is a pharmacist project manager for the Food and Drug Administration. Co-author of the article is Amy Luo, a student pharmacist at Rutgers University. Last November at the college's Homecoming, Nice received the Leo B. Hart Humanitarian Award from the UA Alumni Association for his multiple medical missions to Haiti.


Laura Francis Krogh (PharmD 2006) writes that she married Kevin Krogh Nov. 12, 2011, in Galena, Ill. Attending the wedding were 2006 alumni Corrien Ledbetter and Rosalie Cox Elliott. Krogh is currently the pharmacy manager of a CVS store in Cedar Falls, Iowa.

smiling asian manHoward Eng (BS Pharmacy 1974, MS 1978) was named Pan Asian Man of the Year by the Tucson Pan Asian Community Alliance in February.  A clinical assistant professor at COP, Eng is also professor in the Mel and Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health and director of its Southwest Border Rural Health Research Center. He was recognized for championing cultural diversity and for philanthropic service and achievements in the Tucson community.

Henry (Hank) Pieniaszek (PhD 1983) came back to Tucson from Maryland this spring to co-instruct with Professor Michael Mayersohn at the annual "Pharmacokinetics and Toxicokinetics for the Industrial Scientist" course. Pieniaszek is currently a consultant/service provider to the pharmaceutical industry.

Tucson alumni Bill Jones (BS Pharmacy 1972, MS 1979) and Janice Friedman (BS Pharmacy 1980) hosted four College of Pharmacy students for a pizza dinner and conversation March 25 in the college's version of the UA's Cat Cafe mentoring program. The students attending were Sara Azimian, Bernadette Aragon, Saturo Ito and Genevieve Young.

smiling brunette womanKristina De Los Santos (PharmD 1999) has been promoted to chief of pharmacy at the Southern Arizona Veterans Affairs Health Care System in Tucson. De Los Santos, who is a preceptor for the college, began her new position March 26.


J. Lyle Bootman (BS Pharmacy 1974 ) received the Distinguished Person of the Year Award for 2012 from Pharmacists Planning Service, Inc. in March. PPSI is a California nonprofit corporation that offers a large number of health awareness programs to promote public health and education. Bootman is the dean of the UA College of Pharmacy and in 2011 was named senior vice president for health sciences at the university.

redhaired toddler girl with crying baby sisterWhitney Shields (PharmD 2010) of Tucson and her family welcomed a new addition March 27. In this photo, Mikayla Faith Shields seems less happy about her circumstances than her big sister, Kendyl. Wildcat congratulations to all the Shieldses!



Originally posted: August 29, 2013
Last updated: August 16, 2014
Want to update? Contact Webmaster
Share This